jump to navigation

Food and shoes March 7, 2010

Posted by sunflower71 in Uncategorized.
trackback

We spent most of Saturday with (part of) my family, Sunday with (part of ) my man’s. And poof! The weekend’s gone.

I do enjoy being with our extended (extensive) families.  The girls feel their grandparents, various aunts, uncles and cousins are part of our family, and feel very comfortable with the (regular) invasion into ‘their’ space – our dining/living room.  They don’t play up, and this makes it simpler to entertain….about 12 people at a go.

That’s what lunch was today, similar to what we host, as predictably as clockwork every 2 or 3 weeks.  I admit here that I have a love/hate relationship with this pattern.  Apart from the obvious fact that alternatively I love being hosted for lunch every 2/3 weeks, I enjoy the preparations and the cooking, the company, and the fact that my man, and most guests pitch in to help in the clearing up after the meal. 

But, oh how I hate to see TS crawling where the shoes were treading…grrrrrr!

I’m not a cleanliness freak but I can’t stand my self that I don’t make the guests take off their shoes to protect TS from germs. Sorry, but this is what i’m like. Em… And I’m actually not sorry at all that I’m saying this. I make my girls, my man, my parents, my sister and her husband change their outdoor shoes for house shoes when they come it but I don’t ask the same of my in-laws. The only thing I do is try to prevent TS from crawling and asked my home help to come in tomorrow instead of another day. 

See, cause,  it’s not just food, it’s the company, and I guess, for me, being with with people we love is more important than a germless (is that a word? ) house (is that possible anyway), whatever the hassle (and hassle it is every single time), whatever the cost (on weekends like this, my quiet time virtually disappears), whatever the frequency.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

