jump to navigation

King Colin March 1, 2011

Posted by sunflower71 in about me.
trackback

A week ago, I was lucky enough to get an invitation to the Premier of The King’s Speech.  It was a fund rasing event of SMOM that was very well attended.  My sister-in-law (who invited me) and I pushed down the average age of those present by a number of years but on the whole I enjoyed the adult conversation during the standing up pasta supper that preceded the film.

The film itself was much more that I had expected but then this is an obvious statement from a true Colinista.  I will watch this film again very readily and recommend it to anyone who loves a good story. 

But the best part of it is the Oscar Colin Firth got last Sunday.  He deserves the statuette.  His was a great performance.  Very very well done.

Comments»

1. gadgetoftheweek - March 1, 2011

You are right it is a brilliant film… My colleagues and I, all Speech therapists, are going to watch it together on Thursday again. The script is very faithful and was also based on the case-notes the SLP had written. It’s great for creating awareness.. I suppose just as the film ‘rain man’ had done for Autism..

The history behind the making of the King’s speech is really interesting too. I looked into quite a bit. Glad you liked the film too as I thought I was biased because of my profession..- Veronica

sunflower71 - March 2, 2011

Thanks for visiting Veronica as well as for your comments. I’m sure as a speech therapist this film strikes more than one note with you. You are probably right about the awareness on the condition. But it is also a ‘real’ film based on the dialogue so aptly acted out by the actors. Enjoy it on Thursday 😉

2. gadgetoftheweek - March 6, 2011

There’s another great film about Autism ‘Temple Grandin’ also based on a true story. I am hoping to watch it tomorrow.. though if you like this genre of film you’ll probably also enjoy Temple Grandin

sunflower71 - March 6, 2011

Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll try to find it and let you know. Good night.


Leave a Reply

